April 2010 Board Meeting

Teleconference Meeting Notice


Douglas Bosco (Public Member), Chairman

Jack Baylis (Public Member)

Marisa Moret (Public Member)

Ann Notthoff (Public Member)

Lester Snow, Secretary for Natural Resources; Bryan Cash (Designated)

Bonnie Neely, Coastal Commission Chair; Susan Hansch (Designated)

Ana Matosantos, Director, Department of Finance; Karen Finn (Designated)


Senate Representatives                             Assembly Representatives

Abel Maldonado (District 15)                  William Monning (District 27)

Joseph Simitian (District 11)                     Noreen Evans (District 7)

Christine Kehoe (District 39)                    Lori Saldaña (District 76)


Sam Schuchat, Executive Officer

Pat Peterson, Deputy Attorney General

Elena Eger, Legal Counsel



Teleconference Meeting


DATE:   Thursday, April 1, 2010

TIME:   10:00 am




State Coastal Conservancy                             37 Old Courthouse Square, Ste 200

1330 Broadway                                              Santa Rosa, CA

11th Floor Conference Room

Oakland, CA


Department of Finance                                   City Hall, Room 234

915 L Street                                                    1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place

9th Floor Conference Room                            San Francisco, CA

Sacramento, CA


2222 Midvale Avenue                                                3114 Parkdale Ln

Los Angeles, CA                                           Cameron Park, CA




  1. Roll Call


  1. Approval of Minutes of February 4, 2010 Public meeting


  1. Executive Officer Report


  1. Ocean Protection Council Update


  1. Hamilton Update


  1. Legislative report




Consideration and possible Conservancy authorization to disburse  up to $1.2 million from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration of the United States Department of Commerce and $1,136,000 to the County of Santa Barbara for the acquisition of the Paradise Beach property, Point Sal, northern Santa Barbara County.




Consideration and possible Conservancy authorization to disburse up to $1,000,000 to the Muir Heritage Land Trust for: 1) the acquisition of the approximately 483-acre Franklin Canyon property, Contra Costa County, for open space, public access, watershed protection, wildlife and habitat protection, and limited agricultural use; and 2)  planning and resource assessment activities necessary to protect the property.


  1. Deputy Attorney General’s Report


  1. Conservancy Member Comments


  1. Public Comments




Possible closed session to confer regarding: Ackerberg v. California Coastal Commission, Los Angeles Superior Court Case No. BS122006, and related litigation, including Access for All v. Ackerberg, Los Angeles Superior Court Case No. BC405058; Malibu-Encinal Homeowners Association vs. Mountains Recreation and Conservation Authority, et al, Los Angeles County Superior Court, Case No. BC 431798; Pace v. California State Coastal Conservancy, Los Angeles Superior Court Case No. BC408190; United States of America vs. 127.60 Acres of Land, more or less, situated in San Diego County, State of California, U.S. District Court, Southern District of California, Civil No. 06CV1670W NLS; and other pending litigation; and/or to consider the initiation of litigation.  Session will be closed to the public pursuant to Government Code Section 11126(e).


  1. Adjournment


N.B.:   At any time during the meeting, but prior to the adjournment of the open session of the meeting, the Conservancy may recess or adjourn to closed session to consider personnel matters, prices and terms of real estate transactions, and possible and pending litigation.  Session will be closed to the public pursuant to attorney-client privilege and statutory authorization under Government Code Section 11126(a), (c)(7), and (e).


For more information, contact Dick Wayman at the Conservancy:


1330 Broadway, 13th Floor

Oakland, CA 94612

(510) 286‑4182

Latest News

  • Coastal Conservancy Public Meeting in San Rafael – April 06
    Meeting Notice Douglas Bosco (Public Member), Chair Joy Sterling (Public Member) Marce Gutiérrez-Graudiņš (Public Member) Joseph Alioto Jr. (Public Member) Wade Crowfoot, Secretary for Natural Resources; Bryan Cash (Designated) Donne Brownsey, Coastal Commission Chair; Madeline Cavalieri (Designated) Keely Bosler, Director, Department of Finance; Gayle Miller (Designated) Senate Representatives Benjamin Allen (District 26) Josh Becker (District […] (Read more on Coastal Conservancy Public...)
  • Joy Sterling Appointed as Coastal Conservancy Member
    Yesterday, March 15, 2023, the Senate Rules Committee, chaired by Senate President pro Tempore Toni G. Atkins (D-San Diego), appointed Joy Sterling to the California State Coastal Conservancy. “Joy Sterling is a respected leader in her community and a dedicated advocate for local coastal economies,” said Pro Tem Atkins. “I am confident she will continue […] (Read more on Joy Sterling Appointed...)
  • Job Posting: Contracts and Procurement Manager
    The Coastal Conservancy is recruiting for a Staff Service Manager I (SSM I) who will be leading our Contracts & Procurement team to join our team. The State Coastal Conservancy values diversity at all levels of the organization and is committed to fostering an environment in which employees from a variety of backgrounds, cultures, and personal […] (Read more on Job Posting: Contracts...)
Email List Icon Image Sign up and Stay Informed!

Visit the State of California Department of Public Health online for all the latest publicly available information and guidance on the COVID-19 virus Visit the State of California
Department of Public Health online
for all the latest publicly available information
and guidance on the COVID-19 virus

SCC/OPC Project Viewer Photo of sea otter in the ocean Help Save Sea Otters at Tax Time